top of page
Search

My first attempt

Updated: Sep 1, 2020


Hi guys well yeah that's my very first digital art attempt and yeah it's kinda.... I dunno. The process though was full of work, sometimes necessary sometimes well not so much... Sketching and line art weren't really the problem (except for the hands hehe and that my sketch was far from the middle). Although the line art I messed up quite some times. Then the coloring came and geesh it was a struggle. Well I had the color palette in mind. My idea was to use warm colors. First I started off with red hair but that wasn't so appealing so reddish brown it was. I think the funnest part was blending the colors to make a sort of ombre I could just blend all day. Then the real problem started. My mind was fixed that I wanted a purplish blue background and I was really stubborn to do it. So I added an extra layer and wanted to fill it in with the bucket tool. But for some reason It wasn't the pretty purple color I expected it was like a translucent film of blue with some obvious scribbles. I was so confused. I tried it over and over again but the results were always the same. I got really upset but I still continued trying different ways I could do it. At the end I decided to just paint on the same layer as the other colors how I was back then. So I outlined her with the color and filled the rest in. It sounds simple but it wasn't it was a lot of work. I realized that her pose should be more interesting but it was too late by then.


This was my result. Silence overtook me. I thought it looked really odd. Looking back it doesn't look that bad... So I erased it all again. And I did it on the same layer so it was such a finicky work.

Well I definitely did learn a lot from this process


  • paint the background on a seperate layer. It seems so obvious. 

  • make enough sketches 

  • start learning how to draw hands (I means seriously are those mittens or are they mousetraps (random) nobody knows

  • do some shading so it actually looks good.

Well yeah that's my first digital art attempt I'm kinda ok with it since it's my first one. But there is a lot of improvement to be made. I'm thinking of doing a video for the next time with voicing so stay tuned to see that. 

Till then stay safe and healthy


Sarah

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Prologue

You probably already know that from my profile. But I mean who reads those anyways. (Me.) I recently started to get interested in digital art and animation. I have been researching about digital artis

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by Let's try digital art. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page